Horsham Rugby Club celebrate super season at awards night


Martin Read – Sports Reporter

Horsham Rugby Club’s players, officials and supporters celebrated a fantastically successful season at the awards night at their Hammerpond Road clubhouse.

The First Team enjoying a superb post Christmas run and memorably gaining promotion to London 1, South League – their highest ever level – and winning the Bob Rogers Cup for the sixth successive year. The Club’s Richard Ordidge told the District Post: “Our player of the year for 2018/19 was Declan Nwachukwu – there was never any doubt really as Declan, with his blistering turn of speed, scored a club record of 36 tries and was a major part of the team’s achievement in securing promotion via our brilliant play-off win against Farnham.” The full list of winners were: 1st XV Player of the Year – Declan Nwachukwu, Lions (2nd XV) Player of the Year – Bevan Collins, Barbarians – (3rd XV) Player of the Year – Lee Maguire, Young Player of the Year – Aaron Linfield, Most Improved Player of the Year – Josh Earle, Clubman of the Year – Sergio Bebiano.                                                                                         Sussex have recognised Horsham’s dominance by selecting a group of the Club’s players for recent county matches, Sussex being skippered by former Horsham Captain Tom Johnson. After their exceptionally demanding season the players will be enjoying a well earned break before commencing training next month ahead of what is certain to be as interesting a season as any in Horsham Rugby Club’s proud history. With fixtures eagerly awaited, the Horsham’s challenging new season in London 1 South starts in September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *