Morwen hopes to reach 30-year milestone as election nears

A candidate from Horsham will hoping to complete 30 years in the council chamber as more than 300 people contest seats in the West Sussex County Council elections next month.

Among the most experienced sitting councillors up for election is Morwen Millson, a Liberal Democrat, who was first elected in 1989 and faces four rivals in Riverside. Winning would take Cllr Millson nearer a 30-year anniversary on the county council in 2019 should she serve the new term of office.

Among the candidates out of the mainstream are James Smith, who is contesting the Holbrook seat under the banner “Something New” and Jim Duggan , contesting Horsham Riverside under the banner “Peace Party – Nonviolence, Justice, Environment.”

The line up within the Horsham district area for the vote on May 4 is as follows:

 BILLINGSHURST  (Billingshurst Itchingfield Shipley) BROWN Robert William Labour GREENWOOD Richard John Liberal Democrat  HARPER Graham Hartridge UKIP,  JUPP Amanda Jane  Conservative.

BRAMBER CASTLE (Ashurst Bramber Henfield Small Dole ward, Steyning Upper Beeding Woodmancote) BARLING David Howard Conservative BIRNSTINGL  Simon Wildon Labour

HUNTER Ivan John UKIP,  PRIOR Jo Green Party WELLBY Ross Stephen Liberal Democrat.

 BROADBRIDGE (Broadbridge Heath, Rudgwick Slinfold Warnham) DEARSLEY Patrick Henry UKIP

GAFFAR Matthew Stephen Liberal  Democrat MCGILLIVRAY Cameron Scott Labour  MITCHELL Christian Richard Conservative   ROSS Catherine Mary Green Party.

HENFIELD (Cowfold, Henfield Henfield ward, Shermanbury and West Grinstead)  BARNARD Lionel Harvey Conservative BOYLE David Liberal Democrat WRIGHT Helen Labour.

HOLBROOK (Holbrook West and Holbrook East) CATCHPOLE Peter Charles Conservative

CHAPMAN Raymond Edward Labour HELLAWELL Warwick John Liberal Democrat SMITH James Something New .

HORSHAM EAST (Forest part,  North Horsham Roffey North ward  and North Horsham Roffey South ward ,part) BALDWIN Andrew Norris Conservative HAIGH Frances Margaret Liberal Democrat MACTAVISH Ferial Green Party  NICOL Ian David Labour Party ROWLANDS Mike UKIP.

HORSHAM  HURST  (Horsham Park part and Trafalgar) BRITTEN Alan Crawford Conservative  DENNIS Nigel Peter Stewart Liberal Democrat HAYTON Carol Labour MONK Robin UKIP.

HORSHAM RIVERSIDE  (Denne Forest part Horsham Park part) DUGGAN Jim  Peace Party – Nonviolence, Justice, Environment DYE Ross Conservative  HIDE David Vaughan Labour

MILLSON Morwen Elizabeth Liberal Democrat  TOOTS Ray UKIP

PULBOROUGH (Coldwatham Pulborough Thakeham West Chiltington) ARCULUS Pat Conservative

HANCOCK Samuel Henry Anthony Liberal Democrat MOTE Jane Elizabeth Labour


ST LEONARDS FOREST (Colgate, Lower Beeding, North Horsham Roffey South ward part and Rusper)  BEVIS Anthony David Liberal Democrat BUTLER Raymond Ben UKIP,HILLMAN Rosalind Joyce Labour  KITCHEN Liz Conservative.

SOUTHWATER and NUTHURST (Nuthurst Southwater) EVELEIGH Gloria Frances UKIP

JUPP Nigel Paul Stafford Conservative O’SULLIVAN Kevin Stephen Labour SHAW Peter Robert Green Party WHEATCROFT Bob Liberal Democrat.

STORRINGTON (Amberley, Ashington, Parham, Storrington Sullington, Washington and Wiston.) FIFE Caroline Joan Labour GRACE Peter James Darien UKIP, HOLBROOK Steve Liberal  MARSHALL Paul Anthony  Conservative

At present 43 Conservatives from across West Sussex sit at Chichester, while UKIP has 10, the Liberal Democrats seven, Labour six, with three Independent members and two vacancies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *