Roffey retain the Mirfield Cup in style

Mirfield Cup Final – Roffey v AJW Aviation

AJW 96-6 (15 overs) Roffey 98-1 (11.5 overs) 

Roffey won by 9 wickets

This game was reduced to fifteen 6 ball overs because of concerns about the late evening light and Roffey inserted the Slinfold aviation company AJW, who were in the final after triumphing in a rain induced bowl out against Slinfold in their semi. There was an air of Roffey Old Boys about AJW with three former Roffey players in their ranks – Chris Plaister, Mike Norris and Dan Smith – and they set off well, Smith opening the batting very positively, making a rapid 28. Plaister made 33 but wickets were falling too regularly and when Norris, batting down the order, was run out for 2 the possibility of posting a really challenging score evaporated, the 97 run target being disappointing after AJW’s promising start, Ollie Rivers and Tom Barnes each taking two wickets.

Replying, after 10 overs Roffey had reached 71-1, only the clatter of wickets could change the course of the game but that was not to be, Roffey cruising home with 25 balls to spare, Chris Webb scoring 42 and Josh Fleming 39, both unbeaten.

This was Roffey’s third appearance in the final in four years and in the 57 year history of the competition – named after a former Horsham Cricket Club President – Roffey have carried off the trophy a record 16 times in addition to runners up spots. Roffey skipper Alex Collins told the District Post: “We really wanted to win this and it was great to notch up another cup victory in my first season of captaining our Mirfield side!”

Presenting the trophy Mirfield organiser David Horsman said: “We managed to beat the weather and then Roffey pulled off a good win – two victories and many thanks to Bob Daisley and Horsham President Barry Peay for their invaluable umpiring.”

The evening Gullick Cup Final at Horsham Cricket Club has been rescheduled for next Tuesday, July 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *