Safe to say – Horsham are champions

Tuesday April 12 – SCFL Premier Division
Hailsham Town 0 – 3 Horsham
Put the lard on ice!
Horsham are all but Champions and with it comes a return to the Ryman League at the first time of asking.
The promotion party will be officially held on Saturday when last night’s hosts turn visitors and the formality of the Hornets needing another point is secured. The reality is Horsham are already champions as nearest challengers Eastbourne Town would need to win both their remaining matches, and overcome a massive 29 goal difference in doing so, while Horsham lose their two.
Horsham made the perfect start to the match when after just 9 minutes of play they took the lead through an Ashley Jones close range header following a nod across the area from captain Joe Shelley. If Horsham thought that lowly Hailsham Town were going to lie down they were mistaken as the home side battled to get back into the match. This however is a strong well organised Horsham team that know how to defend as well as put the ball away at the other end and the Hornets comfortably took the slender lead into the break.
Any worries that the large contingent of travelling support had were dispelled within 3 minutes of the restart when once again captain fantastic Shelley won the ball and played Terry Dodd in on goal from where he fired the ball past Town ‘keeper Phil Hawkins. With the match – and with it the title – in the bag, Horsham played some nice football which earned its reward just over the hour mark when front-man Dodd tapped in Evan Archibald’s pin point cross for his 34th goal of what has been a prolific season for the striker. Late drama saw a red card for Kevin Keehan for reacting badly to a robust challenge but the 10 men were not threatened further and the whistle signalled success for Dom Di Paola and his team, not only in this match but over the entire season.
Now for Saturday and to put the icing on the cake, or should it be put the lard in the sandwich!
Horsham Team: Shaw, Duncan, Knee, Keehan, Jones, Farmer, Shelley, Lewis, Dodd, Archibald, Boswell. Subs: Storrie, Atkinson, Chadwick, Pamment, Fogden.


Dave Smith – Sports Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *